Democratic Central Committee Members

The Central Committee is composed of 10 members, five female and five male. The current Central Committee was elected in the 2018 Maryland Gubernatorial Primary Election and members will serve four-year terms.


Shane Mattingly 

Vice Chair:

Heather Earhart


Caroline King

Caroline grew up around Maryland politics and has been a Democrat for as long as she can remember. Since moving to St. Mary’s County 12 years ago, she has served the community in various capacities, including work with CASA of Southern Maryland, the Southern Maryland Youth Orchestra & Choir, and the St. Mary’s County Commission on the Environment, Recreation & Parks Board, and Planning Commission. Caroline is a Maryland Master Naturalist and loves teaching kids about nature. She lives in California with her husband and three children.


Jane Loughran

Jane moved to St. Mary's County in 1976 to attend St. Mary's College and fell in love with the community. She has been a business owner, business manager, training consultant and fundraiser for CSM and MedStar St. Mary's Hospital, and finally Financial Advisor. As a volunteer, Jane has worked with CASA, served on the Hospice of St. Mary's board and SMC Housing Authority, and is a proud member of the Lexington Park Rotary. She and her husband of 35 years, Mike, are proud parents of two sons and have two phenomenal daughters-in-law and three grandchildren. Jane and Mike live in Piney Point.


Bill Bates

Bill Bates was born in Baltimore, MD. He graduated from Bowie High School in 1975, and then began a 35-year career with the Maryland Natural Resources Police. In 1979, Bill graduated from Prince George County Community College with an AA degree in law enforcement. After working his way up to the rank of Captain, he retired from the NRP in 2011; but still remains active in the Fraternal Order of Police and is currently employed with the St. Mary’s County Sheriff’s Department. In 1985 Bill enlisted in the Maryland Army National Guard where he rose to the rank of Master Sergeant. He retired after 31 years of service. Since 1986, Bill has been an active participant in his local democratic clubs, first in Calvert County and currently in St. Mary’s County. Bill genuinely enjoys helping the Democratic Party in any way possible.  

Michael Brown

Michael has been a resident of St. Mary’s County for over 50 years. He grew up in the Hollywood area and now lives in Lexington Park. He is a lifelong Democrat and retired Natural Resources Police officer, and now serves as the president of the Unified Committee for Afro-American Contributions. This is his second term on the Democratic Central Committee.

Diana Donahue

Diana is a graduate of Great Mills High School who practiced law in Southern Maryland for 33 years. During that time she was active in many ways on behalf of children, from prosecuting child abusers to working in Teen Court. She provided free legal advice on family law issues on behalf of the Circuit Court for St. Mary’s County. During her last 6 ½ years as a practicing attorney, she represented victims of domestic violence to help give them a voice and move their lives away from abuse. As a mediator with 20 years of experience, she has learned how to listen to others and help them arrive at consensus. Now retired, she lives with her husband of 44 years and enjoys riding bicycles and volunteering at the Northern Senior Activity Center.    

Laura Hart

Laura came to St. Mary’s County in 1996 as part of the base consolidation at Pax River. She retired from Naval Aviation in 2006 after 34 years as a civilian engineer and engineering manager. She got active in movement politics at both the federal and state level, including a period of time on the Board of Directors of Equality Maryland. It was there that she learned the value and power of grassroots activism. In 2012, Laura became the St. Mary’s County canvassing coordinator for Obama for America. It was working on this campaign that taught her the need for a strong ground game in electoral politics. Her goal as a Central Committee member is to create a network of volunteers beyond one election cycle to carry the Democratic message forward in non-election years and serve as a ready source of experienced volunteers for future campaigns and possibly even their own.

Dr. Sal Raspa

Sal has served the community in various capacities. He retired from St. Mary's County Public Schools where he was a science teacher, principal, science supervisor, director of school transportation, and assistant superintendent. He  served for 12 years on the elected Board of Education (6 years as chairman). He also served on the Community College Advisory Board, the Planning and Zoning Board of Appeals, the United States Congressional Advisory Board on Educational Issues, the St. Mary's County Council on Children and Youth, and the St. Mary's County Health Council. He has received several Governor's Citations: for Outstanding Commitment to Public Education, for Impressive Commitment to the People of Southern Maryland, and for Implementing Drug Prevention Curriculum in Schools. Sal is a member of the Lexington Park Lions Club, the NAACP, and the Maryland Retired School Personnel Association. He lives in Lexington Park with his wife, Myra.

Steven Tuttle (appointed 2019)

Steve graduated from Arundel Senior High in 1996. He has been a registered Democrat since 1995. He joined the Navy on Nov. 17, 2001, because he wanted to serve his country after the September 11th attacks. He served as a Parachute Rigger until Nov. 2012. During his 11 years in the Navy he was awarded the Global War on Terrorism Expeditionary Medal along with Kosovo Campaign, two Sea Service awards, and a Navy Achievement Medal. After his service, he returned to California, Md., where he married his husband. He took a contractor job at Pax River, where he has been the last seven years. He serves on two HOAs and volunteers to help the homeless in St. Mary's get emergency shelter. He also is an advocate for the local LGBTQ+ community.


The Central Committee has also appointed four Associate Members for the current term:

Roderick Lewis

Brandon Russell

Maria Sanchez Sokolowski

Wrenn Heisler

Be the first to comment

Please check your e-mail for a link to activate your account.