We hope you're having a fantastic February. Here are a few notes to catch you up with the St. Mary's County Democrats:

Club Meetings

At our January Democratic Club meeting, we elected some new officers: Julia Nichols as 1st Vice President and Bonnie Kelnberger as 2nd Vice President. Members also voted for Darlene Johnson to continue as Secretary. (Elections for President and Treasurer are scheduled for Dec. 2019/Jan. 2020). The club also discussed some ideas for how to be more active in 2019. To see the meeting minutes, click here.

The February club meeting will be Feb. 18, 7 p.m., at the Lexington Park Volunteer Rescue Squad. Maya Rockeymoore-Cummings, chair of the Maryland Democratic Party, will be there as part of her statewide listening tour. View the full agenda here. We hope you will join us!


The Democratic Club is urgently in need of people to step up and be a part of the Events Committee and Communications Committee. The Events Committee will work with the Democratic Central Committee to coordinate and rally volunteers for events sponsored by the DCC, as well as help organize club-sponsored events. The Communications Committee will assist with the Democrats' website, social media, and email newsletter to promote club events and activities. Please email us at [email protected] if you are interested in these positions!

Membership Has Its Rewards

For 2019, the Democratic Club is running a membership incentive program. Each month, anyone who joins or renews their membership will be added to a drawing for a small prize. (As a reminder, dues are just $20 for individuals; $30 for families.) We will hold the drawings at the monthly club meetings, and you must be present to win. If you encourage a friend to join, let us know and your name will be added again for a better chance at winning. At the December meeting, we will include everyone from the entire year in a drawing for something a little larger. Join us, renew your membership, and bring your friends!!

See you on February 18.


Caroline King


Change that matters. By authority St. Mary’s County Democratic Central Committee; Jane Loughran, Treasurer